In-home care provider listed on the Registry has been certified, or the employer has certified, that the in-home care worker meets all Registry requirements.
The requirements to be included on the Registry are:
- 18 years of age or older
- CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) Certified
- Criminal Background Check, If you have lived outside of West Virginia in the last five (5) years, an additional check from the previous state of residency is required
- West Virginia Adult Abuse Registry Check
- Valid Driver’s License
In-Home Care Workers, in order to renew their Registration, will meet the following requirements:
- OSHA Training (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) Including:
- Introduction to personal protection equipment, Blood Borne Pathogens, Emergency Action Plans and Hazard Communications.
- Must be trained using the current training material provided by OSHA.
- HIPAA Training (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) Including:
- Confidentiality and Privacy Training.
- Training must be provided by a documented specialist in this area, or a qualified internet trainer.
- Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation Training:
- Training must be provided by a documented specialist in this content area, or a qualified internet training provider.
- First Aid Training
- Must be provided by a certified trainer or a qualified internet provider.
- CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation):
- Training must be provided by a certified trainer from the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, American Health and Safety Institute or the American CPR.
- Dementia Care:
- Specific direct care service training to better equip workers caring for people with dementia.
- Must be training from a documented specialist in this content area, or a qualified internet training provider.
- A $5.00 renewal fee must also be paid.
Please click for additional training resources.